Genius Hour Week 4

I’m surprised how difficult it is to shape soapstone to your liking. Not only do you have to be precise and careful to not hurt yourself, but you have to be aggressive and continuos to chip away at the soapstone. Besides that, the different levels of sandpaper are also hard to find, at best you might be able to find the most coarse one which only removes the scrapes from your tools. I think I set the bar too high for one maybe two weeks of experience, I’ll try to look online for some sandpaper, and try to be more patient with the sculpting.

My next steps will probably be to try recreating the video last week, but use more time and patience. I think I need to change how I approach things and do small steps over a longer period of time, instead of larger steps in a shorter period of time. I’ll redraft my planning page.

Planning (updated)

  1. This week will try to copy the video from last week
  2. Try sand and rough out edges
  3. Find out how to polish
  4. Finish bear sculpture
  5. Start wolf sculpture

I think these changes will help build foundations and help me learn the basics, this will probably allow me to do a better job, both quicker and better, on my wolf carving.

Cutting the bottom for the legs, Very difficult, this is an hour of work still isn’t fully complete.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *