Week 10

So far the place I’ve emailed still hasn’t replied so I may need to either call them, or find a new place to email. I do have a few places in mid such as: Canvastone Art Studio because they offer childrens calsses on Fridays and Saturday, and BearClaw Gallery. All the other places however, are in Sherwood Park, and Grande Prarie which is uncovnetional. Espically since we have to meet them in person so if Canvastone rejects me I’ll either have to re-email them or try to find a new place. Obviously, I could also look into just indiviual artists instead of like a shop/ company. Canvastone Art Studio also offers classes, which would be useful if I do soapstone again next genius hour. They offer classes once every 2 weeks, or once a month for about 3 hours a month. You can drop in at any time throughout the year and quit anytime throughout the year so it would be useful. Not this term though because I don’t want to commit to these classes if I don’t do soapstone again next year.

I just found a website while looking for an alternate location and found an artists website where he gave steps on how he carves: http://www.edmontonlapidary.ca/carving-soapstone.html

Initial Steps:
1.    Selecting the subject
a.    For first carving – keep it simple
b.    Select views of object to help see the shape
c.    Use ratios to scale picture to stone size

2.    Selecting the stone
a.    For soapstone – can find a variety of colors
b.    Hardness is variable
i.    Harder stones give a better finish
ii.    Softer stone can be carved faster
c.    Stone is sold as rough or blocks
d.    Check for seams, cracks, holes and other problem spots
e.    Select color and pattern of grain
f.    Best to check color by wetting the surface
g.    Oils, like linseed, give a better (more accurate) color

Starting the Carving
1.    Study and select the orientation of the stone
2.    Draw profile on side – solf lead pencil
3.    Draw design from different views to the scale needed
4.    Prepare a good, flat base – cut, file or sand it flat

Next Steps
5.    Carve on paper or other disposable surface – for easy clean-up
6.    Draw profile on stone, cut or file away the excess
7.    If the stone breaks reattach with super glue
8.    Holes in the stone can be filed with epoxy

This would’ve been much more useful if I had known this before I started the wolf sculpture, but I could apply this knowledge for my next few weeks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *