Week 6

This week I used the first level of rough sandpaper on the sculpture. I found it weird how it felt and how unatural using sandpaper is, I used it too rough in some parts, yet too light in others. This lead to some uneven edges and dips in the stone. I don’t know how to fix this, I might just have to live with it for now.

The bear is almost complete, it’s an ugly first try for sure, It’s still relatively the same as before just more rounded edges, and sanded. I’ll try to figure out how to polish the scuplture next week. After I finish polishing I’ll move on to the next one, that will hopefully turn out better. I found this website that outlines how to polish soapstone: https://www.ehow.com/how_5548645_polish-soapstone.html

It says to use some oil, sandpaper, and cloths, I’ll get the resources, or most of them if I can and start the polishing process next week or week 8.

One thought on “Week 6

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *